top of page

MEET THE CREATIVE: Drew Hersch

“Aspire to inspire to the same degree that your inspirations have inspired you. Get there by being you. And if you don’t know quite what that is yet, commit to finding out. ”


Taking creativity to another level, Drew Hersch brings his talent to MPS with full confidence in his ability. As an accomplished musician rooted from a creative photography background and shooting at a young age at the well known brands Aeropostale and Tilly’s, Drew shares with us critical advice, as well as what it took for him to get to where he is today. “Get there by being you,” he says, “And if you don’t know quite what that is yet, commit to finding out.”


Drew started his career young, growing up in San Clemente, California and currently living in Colorado, he found opportunities and grabbed them with life. “I can’t remember a single point in my life where I wasn’t obsessing over some sort of creative project,” he tells us, “Throughout my childhood, I’d sell paper tickets to my parents and force them to sit through my concerts (me singing on the coffee table)”. When Drew was growing up in different stages, he was always doing something, anything to keep his passion alive. “In elementary school, I would write scripts in class and then cast my classmates in recess musicals. In middle school, I desperately wanted to be a Youtuber. In high school, I got so into photography & videography that I landed collaborations with brands like Aeropostale & Tilly’s.” His strong background in theatre, as well as the arts, led him to fall into a strong foundation of understanding his future self. “To be honest, I have no real answer as to what drew me to any of these things - theatre, photography, videography, and now music. Just as much as I now see my future self in the music industry, I once looked forward and saw myself in the film industry, the photography industry... at one point I literally saw myself on broadway.”


Given Drew’s creative background, the options that came to him were inevitable. He started out as a photographer, and worked his way into the music industry. He shares with us how he was able to take progress as it comes for the better, and loves the growth of his ability in the industry. “I am inspired to continue with music because of the notable progress my sound has made over the past few years. I listen back to my old stuff - and it’s okay, but not nearly as good as what I’m making now. I used to see this as a huge negative - I used to be terrified by the thought of being judged by my future self. But I believe this is the mental state that causes too many people (of all creative fields) to give up too soon.” It is so important for creatives to come to the realization that Drew did, and learn that progress works for you, not against you. This week, Drew is releasing his single “nice guy” and is absolutely obsessed with it!! At the same time, he tells us, “nothing excites me more than the thought of listening back on “nice guy” two years from now and thinking “it’s okay, but my stuff now is so much better.” Yes, that’s indicative of my current self receiving negative judgement. But it’d be stupid to dwell on that when I could be focusing on how fucking incredible my music is eventually gonna sound if in two years I’m looking down on “nice guy.” I believe it is important for all creatives to work toward flipping their insecurity into inspiration.” His growth mindset will continue to serve him, and other creatives for the best and only the best, calling success to not just him, but his audience who he regularly inspires as well.


Outside of music, Drew is active in the other arts as well. He explains it well to MPS, “My music has heavily benefited from my experience in other creative fields. My theater background has given me an ear for intense orchestral build ups and climaxes, for vocal powerhouse moments that punch listeners right in the heart. Musicals twist, turn, and break the rules of songwriting structure... and I’m obsessed with the feeling that can give an audience. Theatre is the sole reason my music is dramatic, and the sole reason I have trouble identifying my genre.


Additionally, my photography and videography experience has allowed me to essentially plug my brain directly into my own visuals in order to achieve cover art and a music video that mirrors my vision with 100% accuracy.” It’s because of a strong foundation in the arts Drew is able to build walls over it, as well as, most importantly, set boundaries.


Starting with the culture of being an Instagram influencer, creating is an art, and as he says, “not a numbers game”. It truly is important, especially for someone in the music and creative industries, to share not to look at someone based on their follower count, especially when it can make them challenging to access when collaborating and getting their attention for any creative form. He also jokes about the life in the industry, “Value your work and don’t let brands take advantage of you. Exposure and free bracelets won’t pay your gas money,” and most of all, “Don’t romanticize Los Angeles.”


He talks to us about how it’s important to get the music you want to achieve true authenticity. “There is one Billie. There is one Lana. There is one Ariana,” he says, “As creatives, we have a brilliant set of idols to look to, because they got there by being themselves. Get there by being you. And if you don’t know quite what that is yet, commit to finding out.” By having that distinct voice in what Drew puts out there in his music, he’s able to find and draw his own realizations with the information that he has. “Since starting music,” he shares, “I’ve realized the ONLY projects of mine that I’ve truly ended up regretting down the road are the ones where I intentionally tried to mimic my inspirations. I have far too many unreleased songs that I now look back on as ‘wanna-be Billie’ or ‘wanna-be Rex OC.’ Far too many archived photos that scream ‘wanna-be Sam Dameshek’ and ‘wanna-be Brandon Woelfel.’ Inspiration is encouraged, always. But ask yourself this: when have you ever fallen in love with the work of an artist that just screams unoriginal? Let me put it plainly - you haven’t.” Drew brings out truths of the music industry that shows us how direct and beneficial to produce what you have to offer. It’s critical to find inspiration, and at the same time find your own voice in what you have to share.


But in the end, Drew wants us to know he’s still learning. “My overall passion for creativity has led me to each of these places, and my body itself is just along for the ride.” He shares advice for young creatives, and builds them up every day. “To anyone looking to start - or continue - music, photography, or any creative field: be the artist that people fall in love with for their originality. Realize the chances of you outselling your idol by using their signature look/sound are second to none. Think back to the way you fell in love with your biggest inspiration... what did it feel like? I encourage you to treat yourself like a business! Age means nothing. Set consistent rates and don’t be too shy to ask people to pay you for the hours of work you’re likely putting in. Professionalism works wonders!”


With the love and inspiration Drew has within him and shares with young creatives every day, he’s bound to make a mark on the industry, making listeners so beyond excited to see him on the other side. His words, “Aspire to inspire to the same degree that your inspirations have inspired you,” bring everything together, and his future is inevitable.



You can check out more of Drew's work here: https://www.instagram.com/drewhersch/

Responses have been edited for length and clarity.





52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page